Thursday, August 15, 2013

Obama invites '72 Dolphins to White House for long overdue ceremony

The Miami Dolphins team that achieved the only perfect season in NFL history will be honored by the White House next Tuesday, more than 40 years —and eight presidents — after its unequaled accomplishment.

President Obama will welcome the 1972 Dolphins for the first White House ceremony honoring the only team to go 17-0. Pro Football Hall of Fame coach Don Shula plans to accompany players from the team to the event.

“It’s a long time coming, but we’re finally getting there,” said '72 linebacker Nick Buoniconti about the log-awaited tribute. Most of the former teammates are in their 70's and many are not around but, some of the living players still celebrate together when the last undefeated NFL team finally loses each season.

The ‘72 Dolphins team didn’t make it to the White House in the months after their Super Bowl victory, because President Nixon — a big sports fan — was preoccupied with the Watergate scandal.

“Nixon was too busy calling plays” former-running back Mercury Morris said with a laugh. Nixon once suggested a Super Bowl play to Shula.

Dolphins representatives recently raised the idea of honoring the "No Name" team with the White House.

“I’m honored that the accomplishments of the 1972 Dolphins are going to be recognized by the president with a ceremony at the White House,” Shula said in a statement. “It is a very special occasion, and I know it’s something that all of us will enjoy and remember.”

Current Dolphins owner Stephen Ross is paying expenses for the team’s trip. Ross said the entire organization was excited about the invitation.

“By going undefeated all year en route to a Super Bowl championship, the ‘72 Dolphins reached the pinnacle of sports achievement and set a standard for excellence that has yet to be duplicated,” Ross said in a statement. “In addition, coach Shula and his players were just as successful off the field in their charitable and civic activities, becoming role models for the South Florida community

“The players and coaches are most deserving of this unique honor, and they are looking forward to their trip to the White House and their ceremony with the president.”

Hall of Famers on the legendary ‘72 team include quarterback Bob Griese, receiver Paul Warfield, fullback Larry Csonka, center Jim Langer and guard Larry Little.

One burning question remains. What took so long?

No comments:

Post a Comment