Saturday, August 16, 2014

Jimmy Graham dunks twice over crossbar, gets two penalties (GIF)

Despite the offseason rule change that penalizes dunking over the crossbar, Jimmy Graham did it twice during New Orleans' 31-24 preseason win vs. the Titans Friday night.

Not once, but twice!

The first time, the tight end had just caught a touchdown pass from Luke McCown when he ran to the post and dunked it full force. He immediately was hit with a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.

Then, later in the second quarter, Graham did it again. Touchdown catch, dunk, flagged for another 15-yard penalty.

Graham is largely at fault for the dunking ban after his signature touchdown celebration was deemed a distraction by the NFL. Last November, when one of Graham's "dunks" made the crossbar crooked, a game in Atlanta was delayed while workers straightened out the askew goal post.

Saints head coach Sean Payton largely ignored Graham's first indiscretion Friday but became peeved at his player's one-man protest the second time around.

"Yes, I was. I'm very upset. Would you be upset? I was, particularly," Payton told reporters after the game, via

You can bet Graham won't be pulling this during the regular season.